September 4, 2019

Larkin Poe and Walter Trout Win Big at Independent Blues Awards!

A huge congratulations to Larkin Poe and Walter Trout for cleaning up at the Independent Blues Awards!

Thank you to all of the fans out there who voted for these two amazing acts. Just like us here at Bluesfest, Making a Scene believe in showcasing the diversity of music that always has and still is being created from the roots of the Blues.

Larkin Poe and Walter Trout are two acts who dig deep to keep the Blues alive. Add them to your playlists, buy their music and come and see them live next Easter!

Independent Blues Awards

Each winning artist was chosen by popular vote…

The purpose of the Independent Blues Awards is to honour the touring artists who are out there creating new original music rooted in the Blues.

The artists who believe in the true tradition of the Blues, Creativity and Innovation.

These ARE the Independent Blues Artists!

Larkin Poe – Artist of the Year Winners!

  • Artist of the Year
  • Modern Roots CD – ‘Venom and Faith’
  • Modern Roots Band
  • Gateway Artist
  • Modern roots song – “I Ain’t Gonna Cry”
  • Contemporary Blues Song – “Good and Gone”

Walter Trout – Male Artist of the Year Winner!

  • Male Artist of the Year
  • Road Warrior
  • Song for the Common Good – “We are all in this Together”

“I want to say a big thank you to my fans, my band, my team, my label, and anyone else who has supported me in doing what I do! I promise as long as I’m still here on this planet, I’m going to keep doing the best work and the best music I know how to do, thank you!” – Walter Trout

And congratulations to the other winners…

Especially to Bluesfest favourites Samantha Fish, Buddy Guy and Ben Harper!

Acoustic CD
Charlie Musselwhite and Ben Harper – ‘No Mercy In this Land’

Contemporary Blues CD
Victor Wainwright and Train – ‘Victor Wainwright and Train’

Traditional Blues CD
Buddy Guy – ‘The Blues is Alive and Well’

R&B/Soul CD
Danielle Nicole Schnebelen – ‘Cry No More’

Blues Rock CD
Amanda Fish – ‘Free’


New Artist CD
Jonathon Long – ‘Jonathon Long’

Samantha Fish

Traditional Blue Band
Buddy Guy

Contemporary Blues Band

Blues Soul Artist
The Lucky Losers

Blues Rock Band
Mike Zito

New Artist
Amanda Fish

Stage Performance
Samantha Fish

Best Producer
Mike Zito

Best Traditional Blues Song
“Blues is alive and Well” – Buddy Guy

R&B Soul Song
“How come you don’t call me anymore” – Danielle Nicole Schnebelen

Blues Rock Song
“First Class Life” – Mike Zito

Best music Video
“Danielle Nicole Schnebelen” – Cry No More